Thu, 14. 11. 2019, 7.00 p.m.


Venue: Zlín Congress Centre  Organizer: Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinů, o.p.s.  

HINDEMITH: Symphonic Metamorphosis of Themes by Carl Maria von Weber
MOZART: Violin Concerto no. 3 in G, K.216
REGER: Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Mozart, Op. 132

JAN MRÁČEK, violin
JAKUB KLECKER, conductor

This subscription concert focuses on the musical legacy of the great masters of Classicism and early Romanticism. Paul Hindemith's opening Symphonic Metamorphosis is essentially a four-movement symphony completed in 1943, inspired by thematic material by Carl Maria von Weber which Hindemith transformed into an extraordinarily vivid form, whose power, conviction and ingenuity dazzles audiences all over the world.
Of the five violin concertos written by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, the third - written in Salzburg in September 1775 when the composer was only 19 - is one of the most frequently performed pieces of its kind. Despite his young age, Mozart created in Köchel 216 a mature work whose musical quality bears worthy comparison with other concertos of this type. Playing the work for us this evening is Jan Mráček, winner of the Kreisler International Violin Competition and guest concertmaster with the Czech Philharmonic.A melodic phrase originally by Mozart also percolates through the next work written by Max Reger in 1914. His Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Mozart draw on the notable A-major piano sonata no. 11, which Reger reworked with his own touch of mastery. The piece comprises nine separate variations, culminating in a forceful fugue.

The Bohuslav Martinů Philharmonic is conducted by Jakub Klecker, currently Chief Conductor of the Moravian Philharmonic Orchestra based in Olomouc.

Zlín Congress Centre

  • Ulice: nám. T. G. Masaryka 5556
  • Město: Zlín
  • PSČ: 760 01
  • Stát: Česká republika

Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinů, o.p.s.

  • Město: Zlín
  • PSČ: 760 01
  • Stát: Česká republika