Thu, 10. 10. 2019, 7.00 p.m.


Venue: Zlín Congress Centre  Organizer: Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinů, o.p.s.  

TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto no. 1 in B minor, Op. 23
DVOŘÁK: Suite in A major, "American", Op. 98b
MARTINŮ: Frescoes of Piero Della Francesca, H.352


The melodic themes in the first work in our Subscription Series B opening concert are familiar enough even to those who are not classical music fans. Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's first piano concerto is surely one of the most celebrated compositions of the genre, and therefore a staple in the repertoire of every world-class pianist. The concerto was written with the eminent Russian pianist Nikolay Rubinstein in mind, but the end result in Rubinstein's opinion was lacking in substance, clumsy and unplayable. Only when another pianist, Hans von Bulow, first performed it did Rubinstein change his initial disapproving assessment and admit his original error, and the concerto was taken up and performed to great acclaim around the world.

The time Antonín Dvořák spent in America resulted in a number of highly creditable compositions, among them the Suite in A major in five movements known as the "American". Written in 1894 originally as a work for piano, the composer set about reworking it the following year as an orchestral suite.
Our next work, Bohuslav Martinů's meditative Frescoes of Piero Della Francesca, is also a suite, but in three movements. It is inspired by the Renaissance artist's cycle of frescoes in the Basilica of San Francesco in Arezzo, Italy, which made a powerful impression on the composer, who sought to represent through his music their unique ambience and exceptional spiritual intensity.

Tonight's concert is conducted by Petr Altrichter, who has worked with Zlin's philharmonic orchestra since 1978.

Zlín Congress Centre

  • Ulice: nám. T. G. Masaryka 5556
  • Město: Zlín
  • PSČ: 760 01
  • Stát: Česká republika

Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinů, o.p.s.

  • Město: Zlín
  • PSČ: 760 01
  • Stát: Česká republika