We use cookies

We use cookies to analyze traffic, remember preferences and improve the usability of the website. To give your consent, click on the "I Agree" button.

Settings I agree

You can refuse consent at any time.


Thu, 18. 4. 2019, 7.00 p.m.


Venue: Zlín Congress Centre  |  Organizer: Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinů, o.p.s.  | 

Pre-Concert Talk 6.15 p.m. – Small Auditorium

Leoš Janáček: The Cunning Little Vixen, Suite and two opera extracts (arranged by Jakub Hrůša)
Robert Schumann: Symphony no. 2 in C, Op. 61

Vixen: Kateřina Kněžíková, soprano
Fox: Alžběta Poláčková, soprano
Forester: Svatopluk Sem, baritone
Conductor: Jakub Hrůša

Leoš Janáček's three-act opera The Cunning Little Vixen is based on motifs of Rudolf Těsnohlídek's tale of the same name which came out first in serial form in the newspaper 'Lidové Noviny' and subsequently in book form. Janáček wrote the opera, his seventh, from 1921-1923 and over time it has become one of his most frequently performed operas. In addition to its unprecedented melodic inventiveness, striking eloquence and correspondingly dramatic denouement, an interesting feature of the work is the characters' use of fox dialect and the slang used by woodcutters in the Adamov area. Tonight the Orchestra performs the full suite and two extracts from the opera, with the solo parts sung by the Prague National Theatre's Opera Company sopranos Kateřina Kněžíková and Alžběta Poláčková, and leading baritone and 2017 Thália Prize winner Svatopluk Sem.

The four symphonies written by Robert Schumann represent a conceptual link between those of Beethoven and Brahms. His third C-major symphony was completed in 1846 but is designated Symphony no. 2 because Schumann revised the original second symphony in D minor a few years after it was written. Opus 61, as performed by the Orchestra tonight, is the result of Schumann's strong yearning from within to extricate himself from a creative crisis of sorts and redeem some of his earlier less successful compositions.

Both tonight's works are played by the Bohuslav Martinů Philharmonic under the baton of Jakub Hrůša, who is justly recognised as one of the world's top-flight conductors.

Zlín Congress Centre

  • Ulice: nám. T. G. Masaryka 5556
  • Město: Zlín
  • PSČ: 760 01
  • Stát: Česká republika

Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinů, o.p.s.

  • Město: Zlín
  • PSČ: 760 01
  • Stát: Česká republika