Thu, 12. 4. 2018, 7:00 p.m. (6:15 p.m. TALKING ABOUT MUSIC) - Series B


R. Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier, opera suite
B. Martinů: Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra
J. Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D, Op. 73

Soloist: Alžběta Jamborová, oboe
Conductor: Tomáš Hanus

The opera Der Rosenkavalier is a Mozartian-style relaxed and light-hearted spectacle depicting the frivolous life of Viennese high society. Richard Strauss agreed to the Rosenkavalier suite being published in 1945, but it was the conductor Artur Rodzinski who arranged it. The Rococo frivolity of this suite is followed by one of Bohuslav Martinů's last concertos, the Oboe Concerto. This was composed in 1955 at the request of the Australian-based Czech oboist Jiří Tancibudek, and is played by Alžběta Jamborová, a member of the Bohuslav Martinů Philharmonic. Johannes Brahms's Second Symphony is often denoted as the 'Pastoral' due to its celebration of nature. It was written in 1878 during the composer's stay in the Alps.

The conductor Tomáš Hanus appears more frequently with orchestras abroad than in this country, an exception being the Bohuslav Martinů Philharmonic to which he returns every year.

Kongresové centrum Zlín

  • Ulice: nám. T. G. Masaryka 5556
  • Město: Zlín
  • PSČ: 760 01
  • Stát: Česká republika

Filharmonie Bohuslava Martinů, o.p.s.

  • Město: Zlín
  • PSČ: 760 01
  • Stát: Česká republika